CEDAR Workshop 2006

Frontiers in CEDAR Science:

A session to present new initiatives that will advance our understanding of the Coupling, Energetics and Dynamics of Atmospheric Regions.

Plenary Session                         10:00-11:30 Tuesday June 20 2006
Follow-up session with pizza     11:45-12:45 Friday June 23 2006

Convenors:
R. Collins      (rlc@gi.alaska.edu)
E. Donovan  (eric@phys.ucalgary.ca)

The CEDAR Science Steering Committee (CSSC) recognize the fact that much of the progress in CEDAR science has been associated with organized campaign studies. Recent community reviews and assessments have shown that campaign studies are associated with increases in the number of published studies and enhanced collaboration between investigators. The CSSC believes that such new collaborative campaigns will underpin the next generation of discoveries in middle and upper atmosphere science.

The convenors invite members of the CEDAR community to identify new frontiers in CEDAR science that could spur new campaign initiatives. A template can be downloaded. Presentations can be e-mailed to Collins for posting. These concepts will be posted for community discussion before the CEDAR meeting.

The convenors will organize the concepts into several thematic areas (e.g., magnetospheric-ionospheric coupling, dynamic forcing of the mesosphere). These themes will be presented by a panel of presenters (4-6) at the plenary session.


Submissions

1.

CEDAR Frontiers: Ionospheric Feedback on the Magnetosphere
Dirk Lummerzheim, University of Alaska Fairbanks  lumm@gi.alaska.edu

2.

CEDAR Frontiers: Climate Change and the Role of the Mesosphere
Chuck Deehr, University of Alaska Fairbanks  cdeehr@gi.alaska.edu

3.

CEDAR Frontiers: MLT Chemistry
Anne Smith, National Center for Atmospheric Research  aksmith@ucar.edu

4.

CEDAR Frontiers: Assimilation of Satellite and Ground-Based MLT Data
Ruth Lieberman, Colorado Research Associates  ruth@cora.nwra.com

5.

CEDAR Frontiers: Polar Thermospheric Dynamics
John Meriwether, Clemson University  john.meriwether@ces.clemson.edu

6.

CEDAR Frontiers: Heliosphere Impact on Geospace
Kristi Kauristie, Finnish Meteorological Institute  kirsti.kauristie@fmi.fi

7.

CEDAR Frontiers: Natural Complexity in Geospace
William Liu, Canadian Space Agency  william.liu@space.gc.ca

8.

CEDAR Frontiers: High Latitude Neutral Outflow
Larry Gardner, Utah State University  lgardner@cc.usu.edu

9.

CEDAR Frontiers: ExtraTerrestrial Aeronomy and Life
Harald Frey, University of California Berkeley  hfrey@ssl.berkeley.edu

10.

CEDAR Frontiers: Gravity Wave Coupling Between Lower and Upper Atmosphere
Hanli Liu, National Center for Atmospheric Research  liuh@ucar.edu

11.

CEDAR Frontiers: A Better MLT Wind Model
Rick Niciejewski, University of Michigan  riciejew@mich.edu

12.

CEDAR Frontiers: MLT Instabilities
Gary Swenson, University of Illinois  swenson1@ad.uiuc.edu

13.

CEDAR Frontiers: DASI for Solar Terrestrial Research
John Foster, Haystack Observatory  jfoster@haystack.mit.edu

14.

CEDAR Frontiers: EISCAT Support
Tony van Eyken, EISCAT Scientific Association  Tony.van.Eyken@eiscat.se

15.

CEDAR Frontiers: Conjugate Imaging from Space
Nikolai Ostgaard, University of Bergen  Nikolai.Ostgaard@ift.uib.no

16.

CEDAR Frontiers: Understanding the Polar Cap Ionosphere
Thayyil Javachandran, University of New Brunswick  java@unb.ca

17.

CEDAR Frontiers: Global Ionospheric Models
Aaron Ridley, University of Michigan  ridley@umich.edu

18.

CEDAR Frontiers: MLT Tidal Variability
Chiao-Yao She, Colorado State University  joeshe@lamar.colostate.edu

19.

CEDAR Frontiers: Regional Characteristics of Gravity Wave Coupling
Zuo Xiao, Peking University  zxiao@pku.edu.cn

20.

CEDAR Frontiers: Upper Atmosphere Variability
Shunrong Zhang, Haystack Observatory  shunrong@haystack.mit.edu

21.

CEDAR Frontiers: Comparative Aeronomy
Mike Mendillo, Boston University  mendillo@bu.edu

22.

CEDAR Frontiers: Space Weather Monitoring
Frank Lind, Haystack Observatory  flind@haystack.mit.edu

23.

CEDAR Frontiers: Mesoscale Ionospheric Structure
Jonathan Makela, University of Illinois  jmakela@uiuc.edu

24.

CEDAR Frontiers: Space Weather Monitoring
Larisa Goncharenko, Haystack Observatory  lpg@haystack.mit.edu

25.

CEDAR Frontiers: Long-Term Lidar Studies
Xinzhao Chu, University of Colorado  Xinzhao.Chu@Colorado.edu

26.

CEDAR Frontiers: Long-Duration ISR Studies
John Holt, Haystack Observatory  jmh@haystack.mit.edu

27.

CEDAR Frontiers: Penetration Electric Field
Odile de La Beaujardiere, Air Force Research Laboratory  Odile.delaBeaujardiere@hanscom.af.mil

28.

CEDAR Frontiers: Forecasting Equatorial Spread F
David Hysell, Cornell University  dlh37@cornell.edu

29.

CEDAR Frontiers: Mobile Doppler Lidar
Xinzhao Chu, University of Colorado  Xinzhao.Chu@Colorado.edu

30.

CEDAR Frontiers: GPS Studies of Atmospheric Dynamics
Mike Kelley, Cornell University  mikek@ece.cornell.edu

31.

CEDAR Frontiers: Investigating the Thermosphere with Lidar
Richard Collins, University of Alaska Fairbanks   rlc@gi.alaska.edu

32.

CEDAR Frontiers: Meteor Theory and Radar
Meers Oppenheim, Boston University  meerso@bu.edu

33.

CEDAR Frontiers: Regional Studies of Middle Atmosphere
Richard Collins, University of Alaska Fairbanks rlc@gi.alaska.edu

34.

CEDAR Frontiers: Mesospheric Ice Clouds
Mike Taylor, Utah State University  mtaylor@cc.usu.edu

35.

CEDAR Frontiers: MidLatitude Magnetospheric Science
Anthea Coster, Haystack Observatory  ajc@haystack.mit.edu

36.

CEDAR Frontiers: Community Coordinated Modeling Center
Masha Kuznetsova, Goddard Space Flight Center  mkuznets@pop600.gsfc.nasa.gov

37.

CEDAR Frontiers: Planetary Wave Vertical Coupling
Jeff Forbes, University of Colorado  forbes@colorado.edu

38.

CEDAR Frontiers: Daytime Optical Aeronomy
Duggirala Pallamraju, Boston University   raju@cawses.bu.edu

39.

CEDAR Frontiers: Atmospheric Electric Discharges
Harald Frey, University of California Berkeley  hfrey@ssl.berkeley.edu

40.

CEDAR Frontiers: Global Auroral Model
Yongliang Zhang, Johns Hopkins University  yongliang.zhaang@jhuapl.edu

41.

CEDAR Frontiers: Trends in Geocoronal Hydrogen
Susan Nossal, University of Wisconsin  nossal@wisp.physics.wisc.edu

42.

CEDAR Frontiers: Variability in Upper Atmosphere Hydrogen
Edwin Mierkiewicz, University of Wisconsin  emierk@wisp.physics.wisc.edu

Listing of CEDAR Frontiers Submissions as MS Word Document


Summary Presentations at CEDAR 2006

1.

Ionosphere, Magnetosphere and Thermosphere
Anthea Coster, Haystack Observatory  ajc@haystack.mit.edu

2.

Middle and Lower Atmosphere
Michael Kelley, Cornell University  mikek@ee.cornell.edu

3.

Validation and Assimilation
Cassandra Fesen, Dartmouth University  fesen@tides.dartmouth.edu

4.

The Global View
Eric Donovan, University of Calgary  eric@phys.ucalgary.ca

5.

Summary of Submissions and Questions
Richard Collins, University of Alaska Fairbanks  rlc@gi.alaska.edu


Richard Collins rlc@gi.alaska.edu